Ever since I was a little girl, I have been a compulsive list maker. I remember making to-do lists and checklists and little jottings in any notebook I could get my hands on. I came across this list making to better your life book and I found a piece in there that I really liked. The bullet point said “I spend my days the way I want to spend my life.” This hit home with me. So much of diet and weight loss is about what happens when we achieve a goal or a certain look. But as the saying goes, the destination doesn’t matter so much as the journey. I don’t know about your journey but mine has been full of trials, self loathing, pain and frustration.

When I look at that saying, “I spend my days the way I want to spend my life,” I feel that I need to add a lot more joy and happiness in my life. Right now I equate these emotions with food. I have been struggling to reassign these emotions to other activities but I haven’t found a lot that beat out food or making food.

But back to the point, how do I want to live my life? How do you? I want joy, love, freedom, excitement and many people to share all that with me.

So starting today, I want to think about making my day and attitude fun and joyful.  After all, today is the first day of the rest of my life!

Calories: 1405

Exercise: Jackie Warner video

Calm sitting: 5 min

